Three current U.S. National Team members will compete at the 2013 NCAA Championships
posted on 04/18/2013

© Mark Selders/Penn State Athletics

STATE COLLEGE, Pa., April 17, 2013 Acaa Three current senior U.S. National Team members, including 2012 Olympian, Sam Mikulak of Corona del Mar, Calif./University of Michigan, will compete at the 2013 NCAA Championships this week at Pennsylvania State University in State College, Pa. Competition, which will be held in Recreation Hall, begins on Friday with the NCAA qualifier, followed by Saturday's team and all-around finals, and concludes Sunday with individual event finals.

Joining Mikulak are current National Team members Adrian de los Angeles of Long Beach, Calif./University of Michigan, and Eddie Penev of Penfield, N.Y./Stanford University. Several former National Team members including Donothan Bailey of Lake Forest, Calif./University of California-Berkeley, and C.J. Maestas of Corrales, N.M./University of Illinois will also compete. Stanford's Sean Senters of Center Valley, Pa., won the vault title at last year's U.S. national championships.

Other notable entrants include Michigan's Syque Caesar of Port Saint Lucie, Fla., who represented Bangladesh at the 2012 Olympic Games in London, and Iowa's Cyrus Dobre-Mofid of Hagerstown, Md., is the son of 1987 World all-around champion Aurelia Dobre of Romania.

Competition begins Friday, April 19, with two sessions in the NCAA Qualifier. The first session will see action from Air Force, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska and Oklahoma, beginning at 1 p.m. ET. At 7 p.m. ET, the second session kicks off with Cal-Berkeley, Iowa, Ohio State, Stanford, Temple and host Penn State.

The top three teams from each session advance to Saturday night's NCAA Championships, which begin at 7 p.m. ET. For more information, including links to live webcasts and live scoring, click here. The individual all-around champion will also be determined during Saturday's competition. The top 10 individuals on each apparatus from Saturday's competition advance to the individual event finals Saturday, April 21 at 7 p.m. ET.

The complete schedule is (all times are Eastern):

    Friday, April 19, National Qualifier
    1:00 p.m. - Qualifying Session 1
    7:00 p.m. - Qualifying Session 2
    Saturday, April 20, NCAA Championships
    7:00 p.m. - Team and all-around finals
    Sunday, April 21, NCAA Championships>
    2:00 p.m. - Individual event finals
Eleven current and former U.S. Senior National Team members will serve as coaches in the NCAA Championships, including 1984 Olympic gold-medalist Jim Hartung, Nebraska; 2004 Olympic silver-medalists Guard Young, Oklahoma, and Brett McClure, Stanford; and 2008 Olympic bronze-medalist Justin Spring, Illinois. Additionally, 1996 Olympian Kip Simons, Air Force; and former National Team members Tim McNeil, Kyle Bunthuwong, and Bryan del Castillo, California Acaa Berkeley; J.D. Reive, Iowa; Geoff Corrigan, Michigan; and Daniel Ribiero, Illinois, are also members of NCAA team coaching staffs.

Ohio State head coach Rustam Sharipov is a two-time Olympic gold medalist, having won the team gold medal in 1992 with the Unified Team and the parallel bars gold in 1996, as a member of the Ukrainian team.